Crystal Palace Museum tells the story of both the Hyde Park and Sydenham Crystal Palaces in a series of unique images, large scaled models of the Crystal Palace and showcases displaying ceramics and other items.
Free entry. Open on Sundays only.
Summer time: 11:00 - 16:00hrs
Winter time: 11:00 - 15:00hrs
The museum does not have refreshment or toilet facilities, but they are available within a few minutes walk of the museum.
Unfortunately access to the museum is via a steep flight of stairs and is not suitable for wheelchair access.
The museum is housed in the only surviving building constructed by the Crystal Palace Company, built around 1880 as a lecture room for the Crystal Palace Company’s School of Practical Engineering.
It was opened on 17th June 1990 by the Duke of Devonshire after 11 years of campaigning by local enthusiasts. During this time exhibits were acquired, mostly through generous donations from members of the public, classified and catalogued.
Exhibits include remnants from the original building. Adjacent to the museum is the base of Brunel’s water tower.